First year update

Well it has been a while since I blogged, almost an eternity. So I thought I’d update my followers on my first year of education.

I have thoroughly enjoyed my first year. Everyday is exciting and new and comes with it’s own challenges, which helps keep me busy. Throughout the year I have come across a lot of different challenges, some easy to deal with and others not so much.

The most current of issues I’m trying to figure out is how to get around students taking assignments home and googling the answers. I love that students can get help from the internet at home, but most of them just go google a question and copy the answer down without actually trying to understand the content.

I have tried to teach my students how to use the internet to their advantage as a teaching tool instead of something just to copy from. Yet it is evident that someone somewhere will find the answer to a question on the internet.

Is there a secret to this? Or has the internet caused students to become lazy in the sense of their own learning?

Leave a Reply

